Ads 720 x 90

Richest Politicians in Nigeria for this Year

This article tries as much as possible to take a critical look at the richest politicians in Nigeria for this year. In a country known to be one of the most corrupt in the world, it should not come as a surprise that politicians in Nigeria are extremely rich.

Richest politicians in Nigeria for this year

In fact, majority of politicians in Nigeria went into politics because of wealth acquisition, which they acquire through stealing public funds and the likes.

This corrupt nature of politicians in Nigeria does not go unnoticed on the lives and economy of the country; with many citizens of Nigeria living on less than 5 USD daily. This is what has become of the country that used to be great. Unfortunately, thanks to the political robbers that have occupied the political and administrative spaces of our country.

Without further dirge, let’s take a look at the list of richest politicians in Nigeria for this year. Kindly note that the ranking is based on the personal research and opinion of the author of this article; and does not reflect the views or opinion of

NOTE: The author does not state that the politicians listed herein are public fund looters.

Richest Politicians in Nigeria for this Year

Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida (IBB)

Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida is a former Nigerian military president; and he is regarded as one of the richest politician in Nigeria. He was a military president between 27th August 1985 and 26th August 1993, having previously served as Nigeria’s chief of army staff between January 1984 and August 1985.

Babangida joined the Nigerian army in 1962, rising to the rank of an army general in 1987; before his retirement. He also made a move to contest the Nigerian presidential races of 2007 and 2011; which were both consequently aborted.

He was married to the late Maryam Babangida, with the couple having four children: Aminu, Aishatu and Halimatu.


Olusegun Obasanjo (OBJ)

Olusegun Obasanjo is a former Nigerian president between 1999 and 2007, also a former Nigerian Army General who served as Nigeria Military Head of State between February 13, 1976 and October 1, 1979.

He is regarded as one of the richest politicians in Nigeria for this year, having served as a military head of state for 3 years and 9 months and also served as Nigeria’s president for 8 years.

Atiku Abubakar

Atiku Abubakar remains one of the richest politicians in Nigeria for this year. He is a businessman and former vice president of Nigeria between 1999 and 2007 under Olusegun Obasanjo. He was the presidential flag bearer of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the 2019 general elections, which he lost to the incumbent president, Muhammadu Buhari.

Atiku is a businessman who owns Adama Beverages Limited, and the American University of Nigeria; he is also the co-founder of Intels Nigeria. He has investments in various sectors which include real estate, agriculture and logistics.

Bola Tinubu (Jagaban)

Bola Tinubu, widely referred to as Jagaban by his followers is one of the richest politicians in Nigeria for this year. He has political influences in Lagos State, the South-Western part of Nigeria as well as nationally, since electing APC candidate as Nigeria’s president; and also the national leader of the party.

Bola Tinubu was elected a senator representing Lagos West Constituency in 1993 and served as governor of Lagos State between 1999 and 2007. Subsequent governors in the state have all come to power through his influence. His role in electing President Buhari in 2015 cannot be underestimated. Tinubu is also the national leader of APC.

Rochas Okorocha

Rochas Okorocha is a Nigerian politician, businessman and former governor of Imo State. He is one of Nigeria’s richest politicians. He founded many businesses as well as attaining several government and political positions.

Some of his career positions include: Founder and President of Rochas Foundation Inc., President of Rochas Group of Companies, President of Nigeria Red Cross Society, Pro Chancellor of African Business School and former Chairman of Nigeria Airspace Management Agency.

His political career include: Commissioner on Federal Character Commission, Governorship aspirant under PDP in 1999, ANPP presidential candidate in 2003, special adviser on inter-party affairs to President Olusegun Obasanjo in 2003, unsuccessful bid to become PDP’s chairman in 2007. He became Imo State Governor in 2011 and was re-elected in the 2015 election.

List of Richest Politicians in Nigeria for this Year

  • Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida (IBB)
  • Olusegun Obasanjo (OBJ)
  • Atiku Abubakar
  • Bola Tinubu (Jagaban)
  • Rochas Okorocha

Richest Politician in Nigeria - Conclusion

Majority of the individuals mentioned above made their wealth from being a political office holder or being a government official. This list completes our list of richest politician in Nigeria for this year.

Related Posts

Post a Comment



Subscribe Our Newsletter